Two weeks and counting…

It’s eighty degrees in Buenos Aires today and forecast to be ninety three at the weekend. Somehow I don’t think I’m going to be needing the ‘fur’ lined boots I bought in Milan, or the full length winter coat I treated myself to in the January sales. I will of course need the Spanish I haven’t learned yet, but I’ve still got two weeks – one CD a day should do it.

So how am I feeling at this point? Everyone assumes that I am bubbling with excitement. Yep, I am starting to believe I am going now. Small piles of clean clothes, travel documents and inspirational books are rising from nowhere in the spare bedroom. I have made most of the necessary ‘organise my life before I leave’ calls to banks, insurance companies and friends. My parents have visited me and been treated to a glimpse of my tango life. I am left with the niggling thought that they were slightly disappointed that the Argentine Tango they watched me dance was not quite what they saw on ‘Strictly Come Dancing’, but perhaps I’ll be able to put that right on my return… 

I think this is the phase where small doubts creep in. Yesterday in my private lesson with Eduardo I felt that I had lost my tango confidence. I couldn’t relax so I couldn’t follow well. At last night’s Milonga the floor was freshly waxed – not good for tango. My shoes stuck. I couldn’t pivot without jumping. This neither looks or feels elegant. I am hoping that three solid days and nights of tango with Jenny and Ricardo at the Tango UK Tango Tangk this weekend will restore my self belief. My ego needs to be at full strength for that first Buenos Aires Milonga. It may have to handle not being asked to dance once all night…

On the up side Eduardo has given me full details of La Escuela del Tango run by his sister Claudia Bozzo in BA. I have been given contact details for many friends of friends. These people run Milongas, are artists, dancers and singers. I have the phone number of a reputable taxi company – essential. Marked on my map are the locations of the best squares, parks and of course the most fabulous shops for tango clothes and shoes.  My accommodation is perfectly located for ALL of these and for convenient subway and train links to everything else. What more could a girl desire?

Just writing this is building a ‘kick ass’ mental picture in my head of me sitting outside a Palermo cafe on a sun drenched BA street, sipping espresso, surrounded by Comme il Faut carrier bags full of the sexiest tango stilettos on the planet and recovering my strength for the next Milonga. And the best news is that I only have to wait two weeks to find out if reality can be even better than fantasy. In this case I actually think it will be…

See pictures of my mum and dad learning tango at Bar So

Learn more about Tango UK

One Response

  1. Methinks you already know. *knowing grin* Amazing how what you described before even arriving has come true. Talk about making your wishes come true through the power of thought. Lovely! Love you, Sally. *muah!* “Sly” 🙂

Comments are closed.

